To advocate for, educate, and connect leaders
in the building industry

You are here

2016 MCA Awards


SMPS Austin's award-winning Black + White Bash brought together over 200 A/E/C industry professionals for a festive cocktail party + awards ceremony with special emcee—Melissa Neslund from Sackman. The event, which sold out again this year, celebrated the marketing and business development achievements of A/E/C firms and individuals in the Austin area.

The Second Annual Black + White Bash was held on Thursday, January 26, 2017 at the Highball and featured an open bar, heavy hors d’oevres, live music, a photo booth, exceptional networking and much more. This year, we also added a VIP champagne reception before the event for our award nominees, awards judges and generous event level sponsors.

View photos from the 2017 event here!

The Community Service Award recognizes an individual of the Austin AEC industry who continually demonstrates and promotes volunteerism within the community.


Vice President
JE Dunn Construction

As vice president of JE Dunn, Chuck’s responsibilities include business acquisition, client advocacy, and community relations. Since joining the firm in 2006, he has positioned JE Dunn in strategic markets including healthcare, multifamily, higher education, commercial office, cultural, and hi-tech. In addition to his involvement in the A/E/C industry, Chuck is active in various civic and non-profit organizations including The Fifty, a committee raising money for the Dell Seton Medical Center at UT. He has held various committee chairs and executive level positions and will take over as chair in 2017. Chuck serves on the board for Opportunity Austin and in 2017, he will chair the Austin Chamber’s Economic Development Council. He is also involved with the YMCA of Austin and is supporting fundraising efforts for Camp Cypress.



The Leadership Award recognizes an individual who demonstrates consistent, driven leadership that impacts their firm and the Austin A/E/C industry as a whole. This person goes out of their way to mentor less-seasoned members of the industry in an effort to create and support the next generation. The nominees include:



Erika Passailaigue, CPSM
Associate Principal,
Datum Engineering


Erika Passailaigue joined Datum Engineers 19 years ago and currently serves as the director of business development for the Austin and San Antonio offices. She is responsible for fostering relationships with clients, owners, and industry peers and supporting new client and project development. Erika has served Datum in a variety of roles, including accounting, HR, marketing, and office management. In 2014, she was promoted to associate principal in recognition of her dedication to positioning Datum for success in the marketplace and for her invaluable leadership. Erika joined SMPS Austin in 2006 and immediately started getting involved in committees and volunteering her time for the organization. She is a past president of SMPS Austin and started many new initiatives, including the mentorship program. She is still very involved with the organization, serving on the programs and education committees. Erika received her CPSM in 2010 and has served as a mentor for two different mentees over the past two years. Erika is involved in committees and volunteer roles with ULI and serves as the vice president of programs for the Hutto Education Foundation and lead the organizations Teacher Grant Program and Annual Fundraising Gala in 2016. She also helped pioneer the first ever Student Leadership Grant Program for the foundation.